Rising Action – Examples

For those who are interested in more directed examples of how to put together rising action, I point you to my blog at www.ldalford.wordpress.com.  You can see it in the title block above.  Right now, I am directly addressing the rising action in my newest (21st) novel with the working title Daemon.  If you go back to the very first installment of the novel (with commentary), you will also be able to see the beginning scene of the novel.  See if it meets all the critieria I wrote for a novel beginning. 

In this novel commentary, I am directly addressing many of the points I talk about in this blog.  Right now you can read about rising action, but we are slowly moving toward the climax of the novel.  This novel is a very good tool because it has a tight climax followed by a very long falling action.  The resolution is also interesting and, I think, nicely tied together (not everything is totally tied together in a good novel).  You will have to wait a while to get to the climax and resolution.  I’ll pass a secret to those who can’t wait.  If you go to www.pilotlion.blogspot.com, you can find the novel with commentary is up beyond the climax.  For right now, I think I’ll move on to the climax for just a while and discuss it.


About L.D. Alford

L. D. Alford is a novelist whose writing explores with originality those cultures and societies we think we already know. His writing distinctively develops the connections between present events and history—he combines them with threads of reality that bring the past alive. L. D. Alford is familiar with technology and cultures—he is widely traveled and earned a B.S. in Chemistry from Pacific Lutheran University, an M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Boston University, a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from The University of Dayton, and is a graduate of Air War College, Air Command and Staff College, and the USAF Test Pilot School. L. D. Alford is an author who combines intimate scientific and cultural knowledge into fiction worlds that breathe reality. He is the author of three historical fiction novels: Centurion, Aegypt, and The Second Mission, and three science fiction novels: The End of Honor, The Fox’s Honor, and A Season of Honor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s